Hatch Green Chile Pot Pie

So the thing is, I might have gone a little overboard lately with the Hatch Chiles. First I blogged about Chowder and then I made hummus but what you probably don’t know is that nearly every single thing I have made in the last 3 weeks has had Hatch peppers in it. The whole thing has gotten totally out of control and I realize now, here at the end of Hatch season, that I might have gone a little overboard and that’s OK. I present you with one final recipe in case you still have some Chiles from Hatch season or want to roast some regular peppers and add them instead. It is not at all difficult or complicated but it does take a really long time to come together. This is a perfect Sunday dinner kind of meal, especially of you crave Tex Mex style southern comfort food on Sundays. The way I recommend making it, if you try the recipe, is to get the gravy sauting, cut up your vegetables for the pie, and then watch an episode (or 2) of “It’s Always Sunny in Philidelphia” while you wait for your beans to finish and then bake the pie, that is the lazy smurf way to do it. This is my favorite method for making vegan gravy, if you have never tried it with beans you are in for a treat.I made individual pot pies but you can also make one big one in a casserole dish or pie plate.

For the

Chile Gravy

Chop and Saute

2 cloves garlic
1 stalk celery
3 shallots

Add

2 cups broth
3 cups black eyed peas (I used fresh but you could use canned or dried but only 2 cups if you do dried)
1.5 cups corn
4 roasted chile peppers
Cook until beans are cooked through

Add

1/2 cup Almond Milk
1/4 cup of white wine
1 tsp smoked salt
1 tsp lemon

Blend

and season with salt and pepper to taste

To Assemble

Just add the vegetables to the pie reseptacle and then mix in the gravy. The gravy recipe makes a lot so you might have some left over which you can serve on the side, the vegetables will cook down so really pack them in and top with pie crust. Bake for about 40 minutes at 400 degrees and enjoy!

Did you know that pigs are supposed to have the same mental capacity of a three year old human? I know that has nothing to do with pot pies but I wanted an excuse to post this picture.

8 thoughts on “Hatch Green Chile Pot Pie

  1. Jes

    I’m still sitting here drooling over the thought of hatch peppers. And that individual bean crock with the pot pie in it?! What a great idea!

  2. twoveganboys

    Cute piggies. And wow Smurfette you are totally rocking the hatch chilies. I bought some red ones this morning and will have to make a pot pie now that I saw your recipe. You are a genius in the kitchen. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  3. Pingback: PopVegOnline Blog » Blog Archive » MORE Twitter Buzz… and MORE Vegan Pot Pies!!

  4. Pingback: Fresh Chile Sauce | recipe from FatFree Vegan Kitchen

Comments are closed.