Miso Glazed Brussels Sprouts

I love Brussels Sprouts. I think they would be more popular if they were called “petite cabbages” or maybe “tiny green balls”. Maybe then green balls would enter the vegan lexicon and could later be used in other ways like vegan slang for when you think a restaurant is going to have vegan options but really everything has animals in it and you leave unsatisfied. We could say things like “The Salt Lick gave me the worst green balls, my balls were so green you’d think my daddy was a leprechaun”. Well maybe that would be kind of horrible.

I usually eat Brussels Sprouts sliced and roasted but for Thanksgiving it is nice to serve them whole and sauced. This recipe doesn’t have to be exact because it will depend on how many sprouts you have, you can use more or less sprouts if necessary just increase the shallots too. If you are going to be using a whole stalk I would double the recipe for the sauce. If you like your sprouts cut in half you can get a nice sear if you lay them flat on the pan when you add them; just start the shallots first, lay them down and then don’t disturb them for 3-5 minutes. If you want them whole, here is the recipe

Miso Glazed Brussels Sprouts

2 shallots, sliced
about 30 Brussels Sprouts, outer leaves and stem trimmed
1/4 cup agave nectar
1 teaspoon miso
1/2 cup white wine

Heat a skillet on medium high heat with a little bit of cooking oil. Saute the shallots and the Brussels Sprouts until the latter are brown, about five minutes. Separately, whisk together the agave, miso, and wine. Add to the pan, turn the temperature to low and cover. Cook 10 to 12 minutes stirring every now and then until the Brussels are done. Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Miso Glazed Brussels Sprouts

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Dumplings « Lazy Smurf’s Guide to Life

  2. Guava

    HAHAHA… oh smurfsky… I’m going to oversalt my balls just to use that comment over a romantic date night dinner with Mr. Guava. MWAHAHAHAH….

  3. Sarah

    Ooh, so glad you linked to this in your recent post. I usually just roast my Brussels, this saucy version would be a total treat! My sprouts are getting a makeover thanks to you 🙂

  4. Pingback: Thanksgiving Menu « Lazy Smurf's Guide to Life

  5. Felix

    Had the BEST ones EVER last night at a restaurant in Miami Beach called Pubbelly. They also had miso but had bacon as well! Going to use your recipe plus bacon to see if I can come close! Halving them and roasting them I think will help too. Thanks for this post.

  6. Pingback: Our semi-homeade Thanksgiving | Lazy Smurf's Guide to Life

Comments are closed.