Sunny Days in Texas: Nice Ass Greens

This is probably the most used recipe in my arsenal because it is simple, versatile, and dare I say, healthy. The Sunny Days zine isn’t just things like jalapeno popper dip and Oatmeal Cream Pies, you know. I like to have dark leafy greens whenever I can get my act together and this method is great because it works with any edible green you end up with. Since I first made it in 2008 I have probably used the basic method about a hundred times, changing the types of greens and vinegar and usually omitting raisins because I don’t always have them on hand. 

I love serving the greens with grits because the garlic and oil gets all saucy and mixes in and flavors the whole dish. It works especially well with southern style meals or Italian. And, when you cook down greens like this you can eat a lot more of them and maybe absorb all those vital nutrients. I love adding in vegan sausage to make the greens a full meal. Usually it ends up on the sweet end of the spectrum because we use Texas Sweet Onions and white balsamic vinegar but it can go the other direction too with yellow onions and red wine vinegar. You can even add olives instead of the raisins if you want a more savory salty dish, especially if you really like olives added to every single thing you make.

Since putting the recipe in the zine though I do want to clarify something. The recipe is “nice ass greens” as in “my word, these leafy green vegetables taste delightful” not that you will develop a nice ass just by eating them. That you can only get from your mamma or maybe doing lots of squats and lunges.
Every post this month for Veganmofo will be celebrating the recipes in the zine Sunny Days in Texas, a fundraiser cookzine to help Sunny Day Farms Animal Sanctuary.

9 thoughts on “Sunny Days in Texas: Nice Ass Greens

  1. Jes

    Haha, bum trimming greens 🙂 I love me some greens and I’m ***loving*** that sandwich. I would like one right now, my goodness.

    I’ve been trying to rework the WordPress link to direct to Eating Appalachia but haven’t found a way yet….frustrating. The nice thing is that all of Cupcake Punk is on Eating Appalachia–all the recipes with the same recipe lists at the top. Just need to get a redirect on the site and figure out the comment issue!

  2. Amanda

    The updates to your blog look great. I’m finding so many fantastic greens recipes this MoFo. I’m looking forward to trying these nice ass greens. 🙂

  3. Susan Kelley

    This is close to my go-to greens recipe, although I’ve never tried it with raisins. I usually use apple cider vinegar, tamari, and a bit of cumin & coriander. Can’t wait to try yours!

  4. jessy

    damn, those ARE some nice ass greens, Stephanie! i loove me some greens – and yours look especially awesome! totally going to make them tomorrow for breakie ’cause i have kale ‘n collards just waiting to be made into something most delicious…….and you better BELIEVE i’m pairing them up with grits! so yum!

Comments are closed.